An issue I have been avoiding for 3 years

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to this forum and I thought I would borrow your brains for a while....Really I need help.

This is an issue I have been avoiding for 3 years and I think it's time I confronted it now!

About three years ago I tried to upgrade my old iPhone to a newer version - iPhone 4s to 5 on my MacBook Pro.

I backed up the 4s and transferred pics to iPhoto and restored from backup on the iPhone 5. I then shut the mac down.................................or so I thought.

On the off chance I opened up my Mac about 3 months later and it started to load like when you run out of battery, I guess it loads from memory.

I don't know what happened but obviously it did not shutdown properly. I then went to iPhoto to make sure that the photos I loaded from my 4s transfer were there but they were not.

Then shocked by panic I just decided to shut it down via the off button....since then I have not turned on the Mac.

I am sure even to this day I definitely transferred the pictures to iPhoto.

Is there anyway possible iPhoto may not have refreshed the pics or something or can I restore them?

Any help or advice will or a step-by-step guide on what to do next would be much appreciated.

Regards,

JJ

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
rMBP i7 mid 2012 macOS 10.12
Your photos MAY have been migrated to Photos since iPhoto is no more. Could be worth a look.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Tough post to follow, but here is what I can provide..

Assuming the iPhoto import from your 4S was successful, the images should've stayed regardless of the length between turning the Mac off and on again. Not sure why you would force shutdown the Mac when something you were expecting to see wasn't there, since that is definitely NOT going to help.

Anyway, depending on the version of iPhoto, check the following folders to see if your pictures are there:

Code: