Airport express nightmare

911


Joined
Nov 15, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Hi,
I tried to connect an Airport express wirelessly to extend my network and to connect wirelessly to my audio system. I have a Verizon Fios wireless modem, tried all the settings that come with the Airport express, but doesn't work.... Help would me much appreciated.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,831
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Which Apple airport base station do you have? If it's the $99 Airport Express as you state above, you can not extend your FIOS router signal with it. The Airport Express can only extend the signal from an Apple Airport Extreme base station. ($199.00)

If you have the more expensive model base station from Apple you can place your FIOS ActionTech router in bridge mode and use the Airport Extreme base station plus an Airport Express to do what you've asked.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
4,909
Reaction score
292
Points
83
Location
North Carolina
Your Mac's Specs
MBAir (2015) OS 12.3.1; iMac (2019) OS 12.3.1
Hi,
I tried to connect an Airport express wirelessly to extend my network and to connect wirelessly to my audio system. I have a Verizon Fios wireless modem, tried all the settings that come with the Airport express, but doesn't work.... Help would me much appreciated.

Hi 911 - first, welcome to the forum! :)

Second, I cannot solve your issue w/ the lack of information provided by you; so, just for starters: 1) What Mac computer are you using; 2) What OS X is installed; 3) What is your main home network setup (e.g. ISP, modem, router, etc.); 4) How are you trying to setup the AP Express, i.e. cabled or wirelessly; 5) What audio system are you using; and 6) How are you connecting to this audio system? May just help us a little? Dave
 
OP
9

911


Joined
Nov 15, 2014
Messages
2
Reaction score
0
Points
1
airport express

can I do it if if I set up a wired connection to the aiport expess? ie to extend the network and use it also to stream wirelessly to my audio?

I have a fios modem / router, I am on an a mac book air running Yosemite. I want to connect to my audio with the 3.5mm jack.
 

chscag

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
Jan 23, 2008
Messages
65,249
Reaction score
1,831
Points
113
Location
Keller, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can not extend a FIOS network with an Airport Express even if you use a CAT 5 ethernet wire. I don't know what your home setup is for FIOS but the router that Verizon supplies (Actiontech) also sends wireless signals to your TV cable box (if you have FIOS cable TV) in order to display the program data and video on demand.

In order to do what you asked above, you'll need an Apple Airport Extreme to take the place of the FIOS router. And then you would have to put the Actiontech router in "Bridge Mode". Once you have that setup correctly, then you can use the Airport Express to extend the signal and for wireless audio.

FIOS is great (I have it here along with the TV option) but it's a stand alone system that does not get along well with other devices unless they're from Verizon.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top