Airplay via Ethernet through Airport Extreme

Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
My MacPro is connected via Ethernet to an AirportExtreme. In the same WiFi network there's an AirportExpress connected (wifi) to my HiFi system downstairs.

From my laptop MacBookPro I can choose/select the speakers connected to the AExpress (and play music) but from the desktop MacPro (the one connected via Ethernet) I can only play music through Itunes (as the AExpress speakers are not even in the list of available music outputs).

Solutions to listen audio from my desktop to the AExpress speakers? Thanks
 

dbm


Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
498
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Location
Preston, Lancs, UK
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.3/8GB, MBPr 15 2013 with i7/16GB both running El Capitan
You are pretty much describing the setup I have for my Mac Mini, which connects to my network via Ethernet only. Do you have the AirPlay symbol in iTunes? It's circled in red in the image below:

6299c083e775f0059963ec1c04e17568_zps7509390d.jpg


In that screenshot I have clicked on the AirPlay icon and and all my AirPlay options are available. For example, If I select 'Bedroom' the sound goes to my stereo in my bedroom, which is attached to an Airport Express via wifi
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
thanks, but what about if you wanna play NOT using Itunes (for instance from YouTube or Spotify or…) ?
 

dbm


Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
498
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Location
Preston, Lancs, UK
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.3/8GB, MBPr 15 2013 with i7/16GB both running El Capitan
That's not something I've tried personally, but looking under Sound in System Preferences I have the AirPlay options there too:

834b1c715ad1927f1748aae8d946b452_zps6e1ba528.jpg
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
yes, that's probably because your computer is connected in WiFi to the network and not, like in my case, via ethernet cable… I get the same when on the laptop connected on WiFi...
 

dbm


Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
498
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Location
Preston, Lancs, UK
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.3/8GB, MBPr 15 2013 with i7/16GB both running El Capitan
Nope, as I said in my initial reply it is attached via Ethernet only.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2010
Messages
10
Reaction score
0
Points
1
ops sorry, it sounds interesting. which OS are you on (it says yosemite on your profile)? here 10.7.5
 

dbm


Joined
Dec 31, 2010
Messages
498
Reaction score
17
Points
18
Location
Preston, Lancs, UK
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini 2011 i5 2.3/8GB, MBPr 15 2013 with i7/16GB both running El Capitan
I'm on 10.10.2.

I wonder if Homesharing is the difference? You mentioned that it works from your laptop but not your workstation. Are they both on the same Homesharing credentials?
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
No Mac Pro running 10.7 will have the capability of using Airplay.

The first Mac Pro to support Airplay is the current model, released in late 2013 and would have been running OS X 10.9 at that time.

https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201343
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
15,129
Reaction score
599
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
I guess it's not called "airplay", but my wife's iMac running SL 10.6.8 could play almost anything via our AirPort Express connected the same way, ethernet to wi-fi, on our stereo without problems, but it's been replaced with an Apple TV and a newer Airport express. Also connected via e'net and no additional software was used like Airparrot or whatever such similar software is called.

Just saying… ')
 

bobtomay

,
Retired Staff
Joined
Dec 22, 2006
Messages
26,561
Reaction score
677
Points
113
Location
Texas, where else?
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
You're right - that's a different set up than I was thinking - been a long day... I've never used speakers set up via an AE, so not much help on that side. I direct connect a computer via optical to my surround receiver and also use Airplay to the receiver, ATV, etc.
 
Last edited:

Slydude

Well-known member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Nov 15, 2009
Messages
16,701
Reaction score
601
Points
113
Location
North Louisiana, USA
Your Mac's Specs
2.8 GHz 2008 MacBook Pro 10.11, 8 GB mem, iPhone 12 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Big Sur
@sTcA have a look at AirFoil for Mac. It costs about $30 but there is a demo that works for 10 minutes at a time without inserting static. I think it will do what you want to do.

Edit: @Bobtomay Is it possible that the wireless and wired portions of sTcA's network are being seen as not on the same network? Not sure if I explained that well. Its been a long day.
 
Last edited:

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top