Ads suddenly appear and fill my screen

Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
Yesterday & again today my screen suddenly filled with about 50-60 one inch square ads - all the same. It had a persons name on all and one is highlighted and bounced out from the rest. On both occasions I was connected to the internet using my email. Safari was running. I have an early/mid 2013 MacBook Pro 13" running 10.9.5 OS. Where do I start to look for the software responsible for this? I'm not running any anti virus or anti malware. I guess I should by...
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2009
Messages
7,125
Reaction score
205
Points
63
Location
Wisconsin
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini (Late 2014) 2.6GHz Intel Core i5 Memory: 8GB 1600MHz DDR3
Why do ads suddenly appear
Everytime
You are near

Just like me
You long to be
Advert free

La la la la la la...


Seriously, there are some good ad blockers. I just can't remember the exact name of one right now. In the moment, you know.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2009
Messages
366
Reaction score
9
Points
18
Location
Duns. Scottish Borders.
Your Mac's Specs
27" i7 iMac. Intel Quad Core. 16 GB Ram.
I use Adblock Plus and never been troubled with Ads. Give it a try. Open Safari preferences then Plugins and do a search and install it.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
Why do ads suddenly appear
Everytime
You are near

Just like me
You long to be
Advert free

La la la la la la...


Seriously, there are some good ad blockers. I just can't remember the exact name of one right now. In the moment, you know.

Too much! :)
 
OP
N
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
Adware Medic found nothing. I can now tell you that with the wifi turned off (and no cable hooked up), Safri not running it has occurred again. I took a photo of the screen but how do I post it as I cannot access my online site at present. Guess I'll try some of the other suggested programs....?
Cradom - I sang it five times but nothing happened. Should I have turned on the computer?. Hmm, your in Texas & I'm in Newfoundland (that's pronounced Newfun-LAND not nufoundlund) !!! Must have something to do with it.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
If it's happening with no browser running something you installed had a second payload.
Been to Softonic or Download.com lately? Can you run Activity Monitor and see what's running?
And I don't sing worth a **** either.
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
To post pics:
Click this:
Scroll down and click the Manage Attachments button. Click the Browse button.
Click Upload. Close that window. Click Submit.

Ads suddenly appear and fill my screen - Mac-Forums Discussions for Apple Products & Services 20.png

Mac Forums - Reply to Topic 2014-11-02 15-36-39.png
 
OP
N
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
Thanks Cradem.. I have defiantly only downloaded from reliable sources and certainly nothing from a questionable site! XP was bad enough. I posted this in the Newbees blog because I do not know a lot about the Mac yet and you tell be to go to Activity Monitor! But where is it? It took me a while to find it in finder\applications\utilities and then there is a pile of stuff in here - how do I locate one process that is not running? I will see the add maybe once or twice a day and I have no idea of the file name.... Help!!!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
Activity Monitor:
Make the window as big as you can.
File menu - Print -PDF button, Save as PDF.
Upload PDF as pic here or (better) host it somewhere as a file and post the link.

You say Safari wasn't running. Stupid question: Do you click the red button to "quit" it or do you actually command-q or quit from menu?
If red button, it's still running.
I've never heard of this particular problem...lots of little windows. Must be some new malware.
 
OP
N
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
I know abut the red button not turning processes off and Safari was not running neither was mail. I shut them down also turned wifi off. The either net cable was not connected either because I was trying to isolate the infection. I'm reluctant to posting the running processes in such a public venue. Can I email it to you somehow through the site to your private email?
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
I'm reluctant to posting the running processes in such a public venue.
Why, you work for the gubmint? :)
Anyway, if it's doing it with wifi off and ethernet unplugged then I would make a good backup of your data.
Format and reinstall the system. Then restore your data.
If Adwaremedic cant kill it no telling what it is.
 
OP
N
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
I can't format & reinstall as I don't have anything to do an install from! Now that you mention this I guess I should have made a reinstall on an external drive. Trouble was I was way too concerned about learning about the Mac to think about a reinstall... Shame on me. I can access the cd/dvd drive (as well as the C drive) in the old in the old computer using the ethernet cable. But I do not have any program discs. I presume I cannot make it from the exhausting computer as 9 chances out of 10 the malware/whatever would stay with it. WoW!!!!
 
M

MacInWin

Guest
You should have a recovery partition from which you can boot and reinstall. Apple started that when they went away from install disks. To boot from it hold down CMD and R while booting.

So make the backup of your files, then reboot CMD-R and reinstall the OS. That will reinstall Safari without any add ons or extensions, which should be clean. Then you can restore your files and be off an running. One note, if you do this an run and Microsoft products (Office, etc) you should deactivate and uninstall that before you reinstall the OS because of the way MS registers products. Ditto for Photoshop and other Adobe products.
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2011
Messages
470
Reaction score
13
Points
18
Your Mac's Specs
MBA 2020 Monterey M1 chip 251GB; iPhone SE 3rd gen 128GB; iPad Air2, 64GB
Maybe it's an email problem and not Safari? Either way, since you say you're new to Mac, I'd head to the nearest Apple Store. If your Mac is less than a year old it's still under warrantee and they will help for free. If not, it's still a minimal charge, considering the aggravation!
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
Not saying they cant help but I really doubt a malware problem is covered by warranty.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2010
Messages
15,144
Reaction score
599
Points
113
Location
Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
I'd suggest using and checking Console (Utilities folder) right after the strange happenings and it should at least give some indication of what might be causing such behaviour.

It may appear like some strange geek language - it is ;) , but it can usually give a hint of something that makes sense.
 
OP
N
Joined
Apr 1, 2014
Messages
43
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Location
Newfoundland, Canada
Your Mac's Specs
nube-MacPro Retina 13" i5-2.6GHz OS 10.10.3,
The ad consists of 50 or more one inch square ads all the same and they completely cover the screen. The dock does not show when I move the mouse to the bottom of the screen, therefore I cannot "get at" anything unless I click the lower right corner which says "exit". Then its gone. I'm not familiar enough with iPhoto to get the photo I took down to a size that is acceptable to the site but I will spend some time at it so I can upload the image. It's title is "BBC Audio" and I have noticed that after getting rid of the ad - iTunes shows up in the dock. But I did NOT start it. That's the only clue I have so far... I'm now getting screen savers that I have never seen before - I'm sure it's the same as the ad. More later...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 14, 2004
Messages
4,781
Reaction score
166
Points
63
Location
Groves, Texas
Your Mac's Specs
21in. iMac 10.11 --- HP Linux Mint 18
KILL IT WITH FIRE!!!
No, seriously, I think it's time to back up and erase and reinstall.
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top