ADs gone wild!

eric


Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
447
Points
83
Location
twin cities, mn, usa
ok. we've had some unresponsive ads, some creepy windows ones that float around on the page before settling in at the top of the page. annoying, sure, but nothing like the attached pic. it made me wait for about 10 sec (or i could click on the skip ad link at the bottom). what is up with this?

m-f_ad.JPG
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
87
Points
48
Location
Oz.....near the Wizards home
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24' 7 Snow Leopard + Parallels and Win 7 | 30 Gb iPod | Canon EOS 400D
I think the thread is more annoying than the ad.....lol
 
OP
eric

eric


Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
447
Points
83
Location
twin cities, mn, usa
i think that might boil down to a can or may situation. ;)

really though, should it be doing that in the first place?
 
OP
eric

eric


Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
447
Points
83
Location
twin cities, mn, usa
what? why?

i clicked on the last page link for the song thread, this thing came up, and once the "skip" countdown ended, i was forwarded to the page. doesn't seem like a glitch, it seems like a bad idea from the ad site mac-forums uses.
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2007
Messages
1,917
Reaction score
87
Points
48
Location
Oz.....near the Wizards home
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 24' 7 Snow Leopard + Parallels and Win 7 | 30 Gb iPod | Canon EOS 400D
what? why?

i clicked on the last page link for the song thread, this thing came up, and once the "skip" countdown ended, i was forwarded to the page. doesn't seem like a glitch, it seems like a bad idea from the ad site mac-forums uses.

Bad idea is right.... I found a advertisement on here the other night about mobile phone, in amongst the posts.
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
2,288
Reaction score
51
Points
48
Location
Devon, England
Your Mac's Specs
ibook g4, imac 2ghz c2d, mbp 2.4ghz c2d - 10.5.1
i've never had that come up.
 
OP
eric

eric


Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
447
Points
83
Location
twin cities, mn, usa
well they're not targeting their ads very well then. we don't use a printer at home at all. i've even zipped up and archived all my stock print drivers from my macbook. ;)
 
M

MacHeadCase

Guest
Hmm never happened to me either. But I have Safari set up to block pop-ups which is a bit of a drag for PMs (get a notification that I can't open the PM because of the pop-up blocker, I close that warning window and link to my PMs) but I can deal with that.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2005
Messages
4,702
Reaction score
404
Points
83
I too have the Pop-Up Blocker enabled and so when I receive notification that I have received a new PM ... I click 'Cancel' when it asks me if I want to open the message in a new window.

Doing so opens the message for me anyway in the current window.

If I click 'Yes', I get the "No can do, cos' you have Pop-Up Blocker enabled' ...
 
M

MacHeadCase

Guest
Ouch! Well that's a bummer. Definitely ad-blocking and pop-up blocking. I didn't understand your fist post about this. Have you installed some add-ons or not? Sorry, it wasn't clear to me.

Ads staying discreet and being no bother at all forever just isn't reality. Like those flashing or moving ads, they are too distracting visually. I will investigate into PithHelmet for sure.
 
M

MacHeadCase

Guest
I too have the Pop-Up Blocker enabled and so when I receive notification that I have received a new PM ... I click 'Cancel' when it asks me if I want to open the message in a new window.

Doing so opens the message for me anyway in the current window.

If I click 'Yes', I get the "No can do, cos' you have Pop-Up Blocker enabled' ...

Ohh well I'll try that next time. Thanks Pulse.

*Off to school I go... See ya in a bit, guys!*
 
OP
eric

eric


Retired Staff
Joined
Nov 4, 2006
Messages
8,704
Reaction score
447
Points
83
Location
twin cities, mn, usa
i was being persnickety (sp?).

i could install a pop-up blocker. should i on the work computer? i'm pretty sure that answer is no. (though that hasn't stopped me from loading spybot, gimp, open office, textpad, audacity and trillian ;))

but no, no pop-up blocker. it does actually interfere with my actual work.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Messages
3,169
Reaction score
164
Points
63
Location
North NJ
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's
are you sure you are logged in when you get these ads?
-chris
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top