Adobe CS4 will not open with Yosemite 10.10

Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Adobe CS4 will not open with Yosemite 10.10

It says I need to install Legacy Java SE 6 Runtime. I installed the newest Java. I repaired permissions. I reinstalled CS4. No luck.

Now I am ready to install the old Java. Oracle does not recommend due to security. So what am I supposed to do?
I find all the Java SE6 Runtimes in the Oracle Java archive... but there a dozens to chose from... solaris... linux... intel...blah blah blah... which one?
Does anyone know?

I don't want to spend 1 to 2 thousand dollars to get the newest Adobe CS!
 
Last edited:
M

MacInWin

Guest
I tried my CS4, same issue. Fortunately I have CS6, which runs perfectly on Yosemite. I don't know where to get the right Java, but if Oracle has it in the archive, I didn't see it. Here is the link to Java7, but not 6. If I read that right, maybe 6 is gone?
How do I install Java for my Mac?
 
OP
tastyorange
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
Points
6
I reinstalled CS4... but I guess that is different than doing an uninstall and clean install. Oracle does have all the old Javas on their archive... it's just that there are dozens of them and for a non-techie like me, I need someone to tell me how to figure out which one to choose.

Thank You HarryB for the link... I did not see that link before in my searches... I will try it when I get home.
 
Last edited:
M

MacInWin

Guest
I looked and none of them are listed as OS X, so it may be an adventure finding an old OS X version of Java.
 
OP
tastyorange
Joined
Aug 11, 2004
Messages
85
Reaction score
0
Points
6
Thanks, Harryb2448. That link solved the issue!!!

now I have to post a thread about getting rid of malware
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2016
Messages
1
Reaction score
0
Points
1
Make a bootable USB thumb drive of OS X.7

You wrote "Hang on to those original install discs like grim death! Using OS X.7 or later make a bootable USB thumb drive before running Installer!"
Can you tell a non-computer nerd how to do that? Thanks!
 

pigoo3

Well-known member
Staff member
Admin
Joined
May 20, 2008
Messages
43,565
Reaction score
1,075
Points
113
Location
U.S.
Your Mac's Specs
2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
Joined
Nov 28, 2007
Messages
25,564
Reaction score
486
Points
83
Location
Blue Mountains NSW Australia
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
I prefer DiskmakerX which is automatic, as it were. Just need an 8GB+ USB thumb drive and do this before running the Installer. The Installer auto deletes from Application on completion:-

http://diskmakerx.com
 

Shop Amazon


Shop for your Apple, Mac, iPhone and other computer products on Amazon.
We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon and affiliated sites.
Top