• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

OSX vs Dell: The Rigamarole

G

G-Dog

I'm a young graphic designer, and I currently use a G4 933 with 1.25 Gigs of RAM running Panther as my workstation. All my software are Adobe CS releases. The computer has been in it's current state since 2002, before I joined the company, and is painfully slow and unstable. The company budget allows us to replace this machine with a new computer soon, and there is a debate going on as to what we should get, another Mac or a Dell.

Let me explain the situation, as it's a bit...stupid. Our IT guys here at work won't touch this Mac. They are stuck in 1990, and believe my Mac is unable to access the company network and share files like PDF's and JPG's with PC's. As such, they won't give me a user name/PW to access the company shared drives while a simple Connect to Server command is all that's needed. These guys are old school Unix lovers to, making it even more strange.

The other designers here are also stuck in 1990, and believe all files made on an XP machine are totally incompatible with OS X (including txt, pdf, eps, and so on). They also still refer to PC's as IBM's, even though their Macs PowerPC CPU's are made by IBM.