Using a Mac offline

Reaction score
I'm completely new to Macs. I wish to use one offline to be completely safe and free from constant updates. I know this may seem daft to some of you!. My intention is to buy the Mac with preloaded software suitable for my future needs. It's been suggested to me that if in the future I wish to go online to update the software I may have problems. Any thoughts? Thanks.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Any thoughts? Thanks.

What thoughts are you looking for? Do you want us to agree that you're "daft"...or disagree that you're "daft"??;) Lol

It's totally your decision to purchase a computer & not take it online. Of course this course of action is highly unusual...but your choice.:)

- Nick

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac: 5K 27” (2020), 3.3 GHz, 32Gb RAM. iPad2, iPad mini4, iPhone 13 Mini, Apple Watch SE
Wasn't so unusual before the internet... and we coped perfectly well :) I managed hundreds of users running Lotus 123 and WordPerfect on original IBM PCs. Couldn't order cheap book on Amazon though :(

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Simple. Turn off WiFi and don't plug in a Ethernet cord.

You've been misinformed about how things work, but you don't want to be convinced otherwise, so I'll table that.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP Retina mid 2015 15.4" 16GB 2.5 GHz OS Monterey; iPhone 12 128gb; iPad Mini 5, 64gb
"Just because you're paranoid doesn't mean they aren't out to get you..."