• Welcome to the Off-Topic/Schweb's Lounge

In addition to the Mac-Forums Community Guidelines, there are a few things you should pay attention to while in The Lounge.

Lounge Rules
    • If your post belongs in a different forum, please post it there.
    • While this area is for off-topic conversations, that doesn't mean that every conversation will be permitted. The moderators will, at their sole discretion, close or delete any threads which do not serve a beneficial purpose to the community.

Understand that while The Lounge is here as a place to relax and discuss random topics, that doesn't mean we will allow any topic. Topics which are inflammatory, hurtful, or otherwise clash with our Mac-Forums Community Guidelines will be removed.

Tapping into a Skyped class.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Late 2015 iMac 21.5; 3.1 GHz Intel Core i5; 8 GB 1867 MHz DDR3, Mojave.
60 years of programming, but I'm new to Skype, and trying to get a simple how-to from all the Google entries is enough to drive a guy batty.

Our situation is this: My grandson would like to sit in on a May 12th class that will be viewing a projected Skyped lecture. Unfortunately, that night he'll be tied up in a dress rehearsal for The Little Mermaid this weekend. I would like to tune into that lecture and capture it for his later viewing. No trouble with capturing it -- it's tuning in via Skype that should be easy. Can anybody tell me how easy it is?

Is it possible that it could be a simple matter of contacting the lecturer and asking him to include my Skype ID in his list of people who would receive his transmission, or something like that?

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Air Mid-2012 / iMac Retina 5K Late-2014
60 years of programming, but I'm new to Skype, and trying to get a simple how-to from all the Google entries is enough to drive a guy batty.