Bootcamp and External Hard Drives

Reaction score
I am new to the Mac Forums and have found the information very helpful. I am curious if anyone has attempted to try this...

I know it is difficult to install Windows 7 on an external hard drive. However, it is not as difficult installing mac OS to an external hard drive (at least that is what I've read). Would it be possible to install mac OS onto an external hard drive, boot from that external and partition it with bootcamp again, then, boot windows from that partition on the external? Sorry if that was confusing...

Basically what I am trying to figure out is if i can run mac OS on an external, then bootcamp windows (as a partition) onto that external.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Moved to correct forum. I guess you didn't read the Sticky post about "Not just anything goes in the "Anything Goes" forum.

Basically what I am trying to figure out is if i can run mac OS on an external, then bootcamp windows (as a partition) onto that external.

Mac OS X can be installed on an external drive and the external made bootable. I don't know if you could do the same with Windows. I have to ask though... why would you even want to do that? It would be slow, very slow, if it even worked.

OP
M
Reaction score
Sorry about that.

Well I figure that it would be much slower but occasionally I would like to use a windows computer, without having to use up my internal hard drive. I tried partitioning my internal before and not only was space on the drive lost due to partition, the computer seemed much slower overall anyway. Since the tasks I would need to use windows for wouldn't be too in depth, it doesnt really matter how slow windows runs. I like how fast the mac is and would rather install a slow windows partition on a usb than to slow the overall speed of my mac.

OP
M
Reaction score