• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Unable to drag iMovie events into Project

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac, Snow Leopard, 1TB HD, 8GB, 3.06 GHz
I am very new to Mac, and am trying iMovie for the first time. I have a Sony DCR-TRV18 miniDV camcorder, and have successfully imported a little over two hours of miniDV tapes into iMovie, and they show up as events. However, when I try to drag any event into the project area (after creating a new project), it is not retained. My particular events were organized by year, with individual day events contained within the "year" event. i have tried moving single days, or the year, and nothing is successful--in fact, I cannot even drag the event at all when the "year" is selected. I should also point out that I do not need or want to edit individual clips--I just want to get all the events in chronological order into projects, and then to copy onto DVDs. I have consulted iMovie help to no avail--can anyone help me? Thank you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2011 MBP, i7, 16GB RAM, MBP 2.16Ghz Core Duo, 2GB ram, Dual 867Mhz MDD, 1.75GB ram, ATI 9800 Pro vid