New and Would like some Help!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
No mac Just yet!
Hello I am new to this forum and sort of to the mac world. I have been using PC's mostly for 15 years, i've used macs in the past. But I have decided to start switching over to mac because i do not like where Windows and PC's are going.

So as for switching my biggest question is about PowerPC's, Can you still use them for maybe some games like Jewel Quest, Sims and others. I do know about the universal thing and snow leopard not supporting Power PC computers and that For leopard you need at least a 1GHZ G4 with a decent graphics card.

Because of my budget and not being able to fully switch to a new mac just yet i am thinking about purchasing a G5 Imac 20" Screen with an Isight on eBay for a pretty good price. With the G5 will i be able to accomplish daily tasks such as email, youtube, and moderate video editing etc...

Thank you so much for help, hopefully someone will reply back to this within a day or two before the G5 ends!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 15"
The problem you're going top run into with the PowerPC is that fewer and fewer applications will be written for it.
I have a used iMac off eBay as well. Originally I wanted a 20" but went with a 17" C2D from 2006. I upgraded the hard drive and eventually I'll upgrade the RAM.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Norwood is a Mid-2010 15 inch MacBook Pro with 10.11.1.
I've got an iBook G4 with a PPC chip, and I'm noticing more and more that newer versions of applications I like to use don't work on my iBook because they're Intel only (or if they do work on PPC Macs, they don't work with Tiger).