Problems connecting to wireless network

Reaction score
Hi,
I am totally new to the Mac world. I just got a Mac Book Pro today. I have a unique problem - I am able to connect to the neighbour's wireless network, but am not able to connect to my home network. I have no WEP enabled. I have a Linksys Access point router - BFSW11S4.

Please note that I have a couple of Windows XP machines, which are working fine with my wireless network.

Any suggestions or advise to fix the problem?

Any help to this new Mac user will be highly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Mani

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
That is one OLD router, but one that I have personally used before and know to work with Macs. Are you running the latest firmware? Is it broadcasting SSID?

OP
M
Reaction score
Well..I have not done any upgrades on the router since it was worked like a charm so far. I tried with both SSID being transmitted and not transmitted. The MAC does not connect in both cases.

Thanks,
Mani

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Well..I have not done any upgrades on the router since it was worked like a charm so far. I tried with both SSID being transmitted and not transmitted. The MAC does not connect in both cases.

Thanks,
Mani

Definitely give it a firmware update and we'll go from there. That router has got to be 6+ years old, so there's likely been a number of updates, patches and fixes.

OP
M
Reaction score
Ok. I just upgraded my Linksys firmware to the latest that was available, still same problem. When I try to connect to the network, it says connection failed. All my other XP base laptops are continuing to work fine.

The macbook pro connects to a neighbour's network without any problems, or without any change in settings.

Any further advise?

Thanks,
Mani

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs