2017 iMacs and i7 CPU Temps

Reaction score
I'm considering buying an iMac and can't decide between the 21.5 inch or the 27 inch. I don't need the extra screen real estate because I like running multiple monitors. A 27 inch alone would be a downgrade for me.

I'd love the 27 in with the i7, but I read that it runs hot and the fan keeps running. Users have shown CPU temps of 100 degrees at times. I know Apple says that's within normal ranges, but if you read Intel's literature they say it isn't safe.

So the 27 inches run hot. My question is does anyone have experience with the 21.5 inch iMac? Do THOSE run hot? I'm willing to sacrifice some performance if I can have a safer and cooler machine. My studio gets HOT in the summer so ambient temps would be over 70 F.

I'm a graphic designer and would use the mac for design, photoshop and some games. Not really into video projects.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
The heat is based on the use case. My 27" iMac and an i7 doesn't run above 80 degC under heavy load and the fans do their job to keep things in check. EVERY electronic component generates heat when stressed, but there are other components (coolers, fans) that are designed to dissipate that heat.

Ambient temp of 70 degF should not be a problem at all.

You will not have any issues with this.

Reaction score
Just before Christmas I bought a new 27" iMac with the I7 processor. Weather has been cold in the area so I have the heater going close to around the clock and the average temp in the computer room has been right about 75-78 degrees. I have not had any problems at all with the system running hot, or any other kinds of problems.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 Mac Studio, 11" iPad Pro 3rd Gen, iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch Series 7, AirPods Pro
The 27" iMac has better everything, compared to the 21.5".

Why not check out the new Mac mini?

IWT

Reaction score