Mid 2010 IMAC Locked up when upgrading

Reaction score
Hello,
Well not only am i new here, i am also new to MAC ownership club. I Recently acquired a mid 2010 IMAC 21". When i received this machine it was running el Cap. Since i am wanting this machine for Music and recording i needed to upgrade.
i looked at Mac's web page and it said i could run High Sierra. I began the Down load and it got stuck for 10 hours at 32%. Key board was unresponsive as well. so....i Searched the web only to find this to be a common issue. i have since went through all the suggested methods. IE Boot in recovery and perform First aid, Boot in web recovery and attempt to install new OS. now, it will either get stuck at 32% or it will start making 3 beeps while its stuck at 32%. i decided to attempt to just boot from the DVD that was given to me with the machine i believe it is snow leopard. this works up until it ask for the drive to install to. the list is blank. if i boot in recovery mode i can see the drive and the disc listed, so i know it shows up to some extent. There isnt any data that im worried about loosing. any ideas or solution to get this back and running. any ideas i should try in its current state to possible free this machine up. it honestly ran very well and very quick when i received it. if it wasn't for needing to upgrade to run GB or Mainstage i wouldn't have.

Thank you to everyone who can help me out.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

First up where were downloading HS from? Did you go into Recovery and run Disk First Aid over the drive to ensure it was okay before doing the upgrade? Have you upgraded MainStage as there are several warning as about it failing to update and causing crashes? See link.

Also, have you checked the Applications Folder? It is possible the HS download completed and will be there under Install or some such.

https://itunes.apple.com/au/app/mainstage-3/id634159523?mt=12

Rod