Texting

Reaction score
I am new to texting. I can successfully reach another Apple user, but have trouble contacting users with other brands of phone. Do I need to do something differently?

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Messages sent to other Apple users will use Apple's proprietary system (and show in blue) within the Messages app. Messages sent to Android or other phones will go out as traditional SMS (and show in green). This is automatic and you don't have to do anything. If you add the recipients phone number as iPhone, then Messages will use and try it's own method before falling back to SMS. If you enter the phone as purely phone, then it tries to guess.

Reaction score
Here are my settings under Settings > Messages. I have no issues sending or receiving texts to/from non-iPhone users. See if yours are the same.

• iMessage: on
  • Show Contact Photos: on
  • Text Message Forwarding: all my other Apple devices are enabled to send/receive text messages
  • Send Read Receipts: off
  • Send as SMS: off
  • Send & Receive: my phone number and email are both selected under "You Can Receive iMessages to and Reply From" and my phone number is selected under "Start New Conversations From"
  • MMS Messaging: on
  • Group Messaging: on
  • Show Subject Field: on
  • Character Count: off
  • Blocked: (contains list of all blocked phone numbers)
  • Keep Messages: Forever
  • Filter Unknown Senders: off

Obviously, some of those settings shouldn't affect your ability to send/receive (e.g. Show Subject Field), but others might.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Jonathan,