2012 Macbook Pro Memory Upgrade - Suggestions?

Reaction score
Hey everyone - first time posting on Mac Forums.

I have a mid 2012 Macbook Pro that I was almost sure was a lost cause... Started looking into buying a new Macbook or iMac but phew... Gonna be a while before I can drop a couple grand on a new one.

My Macbook runs great other than the fact that it's soooo slow. I'm a graphic designer and need to be able to run Adobe apps as quickly/smoothly as possible. Keeping that in mind... I have no experience with upgrading memory so I'm looking for suggestions.

I currently only have 4GB RAM... Looking at my Activity Monitor, I'm almost always running at 3.5GB+ (sometimes almost 4GB). Ran an EtreCheck and resolved most of the issues it found, but still am almost maxed out on RAM.

Now question is... Where/what do I need to buy? Lol, so inexperienced with this. I'm looking on MacSales.com at the 16GB memory. Does that seem worth it or overkill? And is MacSales a reputable company? Open to any suggestions anyone might have - thanks in advance!

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to our forums.

We really need to know which 2012 MacBook Pro you have. As there were two different models that year (standard and retina), it matters because the retina models have soldered memory modules and can not be upgraded at all. If you have the standard model (non retina) then the memory can be upgraded and yes, Mac Sales is recommended to purchase memory.

Keep in mind that if you're a graphic designer, the most important component in your MacBook Pro is the GPU (graphics processor). An integrated GPU is always going to be slower than one which is dedicated. Adding memory to your MacBook Pro will certainly help somewhat, but maybe not as much as you would want.