Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: DNS setting

  1. #1

    Dittoman1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location
    Chalfont, PA
    Posts
    419
    Your Mac's Specs
    MacOS HiSierra MacBookPro ( Retina,15 inches Late 2013 Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i7. Memory 16GB,
    DNS setting
    Does anyone know what is the correct Xfinity DNS setting??
    Custom DNS Setting.png

    Lan Failure ?? How do I fix this
    Lan Connection Failure.png
    Thanks in Advance
    Ron

  2. #2

    ferrarr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 21, 2012
    Location
    Pawtucket, RI, US
    Posts
    5,793
    Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS Mojave, iPhone 8+ iOS 12, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iOS 12, Pencil 1
    I would think Xfinity would know.
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

  3. #3

    lclev's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jul 24, 2013
    Location
    Ohio (USA)
    Posts
    3,972
    Your Mac's Specs
    2017 13" MBPro, 2013 13" MBAir, 2010 MacPro, iPhone X
    You should not have to enter DNS settings. All your router need to know is what is the IP address of the Infinity modem. I have Infinity at work and we use custom DNS servers (Open DNS) so we don't even use Infinity/Comcast's DNS servers. The default IP address for our infinity modem is 10.0.0.1.

    You can input DNS settings of 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 which are free Google DNS servers.

    A little more information about your setup would help.

    Lisa
    Recommend using Onyx to clean your Mac.
    If you have been helped, please add to their reputation by clicking on the icon in the lower left hand corner of the post.

  4. #4

    Dittoman1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location
    Chalfont, PA
    Posts
    419
    Your Mac's Specs
    MacOS HiSierra MacBookPro ( Retina,15 inches Late 2013 Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i7. Memory 16GB,
    Quote Originally Posted by lclev View Post
    You should not have to enter DNS settings. All your router need to know is what is the IP address of the Infinity modem. I have Infinity at work and we use custom DNS servers (Open DNS) so we don't even use Infinity/Comcast's DNS servers. The default IP address for our infinity modem is 10.0.0.1.

    You can input DNS settings of 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 which are free Google DNS servers.

    A little more information about your setup would help.

    Lisa
    DOnt know much about it but Xfinity is 75.75.75.75 and 75.75.76.76 but when I ran Open Wireless Diagnosics, it mention I m using wrong DNS, thats why I asked
    Thanks in Advance
    Ron

  5. #5

    ferrarr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 21, 2012
    Location
    Pawtucket, RI, US
    Posts
    5,793
    Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS Mojave, iPhone 8+ iOS 12, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iOS 12, Pencil 1
    Xfinity, should have their settings in the router. Are you looking there, or on your Mac? I’m not nea my Mac mini at the moment, but you may want to log in to your router to check those settings?
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

  6. #6

    Dittoman1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location
    Chalfont, PA
    Posts
    419
    Your Mac's Specs
    MacOS HiSierra MacBookPro ( Retina,15 inches Late 2013 Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i7. Memory 16GB,
    Quote Originally Posted by ferrarr View Post
    Xfinity, should have their settings in the router. Are you looking there, or on your Mac? I’m not nea my Mac mini at the moment, but you may want to log in to your router to check those settings?
    I was logging into router setting what I see is
    Ron-iPad 6
    Ron-IPad 6-2
    Ron-iPad 6-3 or 4... is that because everytime I change something it adds last number so means I can deleted anything before that but how ??
    Thanks in Advance
    Ron

  7. #7

    ferrarr's Avatar
    Member Since
    May 21, 2012
    Location
    Pawtucket, RI, US
    Posts
    5,793
    Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS Mojave, iPhone 8+ iOS 12, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iOS 12, Pencil 1
    Try to reboot the router, see what that does for the connected devices?
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

  8. #8

    pm-r's Avatar
    Member Since
    Oct 16, 2010
    Location
    Brentwood Bay, BC, Canada
    Posts
    10,710
    Quote Originally Posted by ferrarr View Post
    Try to reboot the router, see what that does for the connected devices?


    And also go Network pref pane > select Ethernet tab > use Configure using DHCP > Advanced > click the "Renew DHCP Lease".

    That at least would work for any normal ISP router connection.





    - Patrick
    ======

  9. #9
    Rocky97
    Guest
    Have you recently changed to this ISP or have you always been with XFinity and this popped up? It seems there's an issue with your ISP's DNS servers, if DNS servers are not manually entered , your DNS server IP should be provided by your ISP.

  10. #10

    Dittoman1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location
    Chalfont, PA
    Posts
    419
    Your Mac's Specs
    MacOS HiSierra MacBookPro ( Retina,15 inches Late 2013 Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i7. Memory 16GB,
    Quote Originally Posted by pm-r View Post
    And also go Network pref pane > select Ethernet tab > use Configure using DHCP > Advanced > click the "Renew DHCP Lease".

    That at least would work for any normal ISP router connection.

    - Patrick
    ======
    I see, makes sense, Thank u

    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky97 View Post
    Have you recently changed to this ISP or have you always been with XFinity and this popped up? It seems there's an issue with your ISP's DNS servers, if DNS servers are not manually entered , your DNS server IP should be provided by your ISP.
    Heres what happen, I ran Open Wireless Diagnosics, and thats what I got ( look below ) the info. But its the right DNS anyway, I think...lol
    DNS Setting.png

    Thank You, Merry Christmas to everyone
    Thanks in Advance
    Ron

  11. #11
    Rocky97
    Guest
    Quote Originally Posted by Dittoman1 View Post
    I see, makes sense, Thank u



    Heres what happen, I ran Open Wireless Diagnosics, and thats what I got ( look below ) the info. But its the right DNS anyway, I think...lol
    DNS Setting.png

    Thank You, Merry Christmas to everyone
    Merry Christmas, however you did not answer my question?

  12. #12

    Dittoman1's Avatar
    Member Since
    Dec 20, 2013
    Location
    Chalfont, PA
    Posts
    419
    Your Mac's Specs
    MacOS HiSierra MacBookPro ( Retina,15 inches Late 2013 Processor 2.3GHz Intel Core i7. Memory 16GB,
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocky97 View Post
    Merry Christmas, however you did not answer my question?
    Sorry, Yes I ve always been with Xfinity, Pop Pop just started few weeks ago
    Thanks in Advance
    Ron

  13. #13
    Rocky97
    Guest
    You could try first clearing your DNS cache as the cache may be corrupted. Otherwise you could try changing your DNS server as there may be an issue with your ISP's DNS server.

    Clearing DNS cache
    1) Open the terminal.
    2) Enter the following command: "sudo dscacheutil -flushcache;sudo killall -HUP mDNSResponder". (Note: do not include quotation marks within the command).


    Changing DNS servers
    1) Click the Apple icon at the top.
    2) Click 'System preferences".
    3) Click "Network".
    4) Click "Advanced" on your selected wifi network.
    5) Select the DNS tab.
    6) Remove the DNS servers by clicking the - button.
    7) Add public DNS servers by clicking + and entering the IP addresses.

    Public DNS servers
    Here is a list of public DNS servers: https://www.lifewire.com/free-and-pu...ervers-2626062
    I usually try 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 as DNS servers, these belong to Google and I've found these to be reliable.

  14. #14

    MacInWin's Avatar
    Member Since
    Jan 01, 2009
    Location
    Winchester, VA
    Posts
    5,451
    Your Mac's Specs
    MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone XS, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini
    Assuming you are using the Xfinity router for WiFi and that you have a local area network set up, your IPs on your devices should be in the range of 192.168.x.x, or 10.x.x.x. Whichever it is, the router has a DNS function at the 1.1 address, so 192.168.1.1, or 10.x.1.1 depending on your LAN range the DHCP server is using to assign numbers. That is the "default" but you can also add others, including the ones given by the other folks who have posted. The system will use the DNS sources in the order that they show in the System Preferences box where you enter the addresses for DNS.

    Why the 1.1? Because most system reserve that address for the router itself, so basically you are querying the router for DNS service and it passes the request to the DNS address it has been told to use by the Xfinity network to which it belongs. Your request goes up the line until it has hit a DNS service that has an address for that URL, at which time the results are passed back down the chain, eventually reaching your system and you are on your way.
    Jake

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. setting up new mac pro
    By owenpga in forum macOS - Operating System
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-07-2012, 12:41 PM
  2. HELP!!! Lost all setting on Apple Mac. Gone back to original setting!!!!!
    By HappySad99 in forum macOS - Operating System
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 02-24-2011, 02:16 PM
  3. New mac pro/need help setting up HD's
    By JM Photography in forum Apple Desktops
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-23-2008, 06:28 AM
  4. Setting up a pvr
    By andrewthegreat in forum Movies and Video
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 08-07-2008, 09:38 PM
  5. setting up an ftp
    By quanz in forum Switcher Hangout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-01-2006, 06:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •