New mac pro/need help setting up HD's

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just purchased a new mac pro, the base one with 2-2.8 and 320g HD. I run a small photography business. Mostly portraits and about 20 weddings a year. I am not sure what is the best config for the HD's. I added a 1TB drive in bay 2 for storage of my weddings and portraits. Is it best if I get an additional 1TB and set up a raid? What about backup for the main 320gb drive? Or is that where time machine comes in? I am new to mac so forgive me if this is basic stuff.

S

satrop

Good day "JM Photography".

Glad to see you got a Mac Pro, I love mine to bits! Back to tacticks.

Question: I take it you want to RAID the two 1TB HDD's for the extra speed when adjusting the photos in PS? This is a good idea, but I'm not 100% sure if the Mac Pro can RAID right out the box? You may have to buy a RAID card? Unless you already have?? And I would do it to if I had the extra cash. But ONLY if you need extra speed. Not sure what you'll be doing with the photos? But if its just for storage, there really is no need to RAID two drives. So you have to ask your self do you need the space or speed?

So if you set that up you would have 1x350GB HDD and 1x500GB HDD RAID. If you do do a RAID 0 you MUST do a back up to another drive, as RAID 0 is not fail safe.