Apple Music: How to add music without adding my whole library?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014), 32 GB Ram, 27" Thunderbolt Display, 4TB G-RAID TB Storage
I'm new to Apple Music subscription. I want to add something to my iPhone or save it so I can listen to it again, how do I do this? If I hit "Add To Library", it says I must merge my library with iCloud. Why? Will this upload my whole music library to iCloud, even songs I have installed from disks (not purchased through Apple Music)? Or will it only do songs purchased through iTunes? I don't want ALL my songs on iCloud, there are too many in my library.

This should be simpler and more customizable. PLEASE HELP!

Thank you.

IWT

Reaction score
Born Scotland. Worked all over UK. Live in Wales
Your Mac's Specs
M2 Max Studio Extra, 32GB memory, 4TB, Sonoma 14.4.1 Apple 5K Retina Studio Monitor
Apple Music is built around two major components: iCloud Music Library, which combines your purchased music library and ripped tracks in one place; and the Apple Music streaming catalog, where you can find more than 10 million tracks from artists around the world.

These two parts live side by side in the Music app: You can keep each separate by only streaming the Apple Music catalog, or you can add streaming songs to your offline Music library, where they can be mixed into playlists (offline or publicly shareable) or shuffled amongst the rest of your music.

These two statements appear to answer your question and are taken are taken from: Apple Music — Everything you need to know right now! | iMore

For more info from Apple itself: Apple Music - Apple (UK) (I live in the UK so that is Apple's UK version; but I would doubt if it is different in the States).

Ian

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.