Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
Join Us @ Mac-Forums Facebook Page

Newbie here - battery related question
    Hi guys,

Just bought a macbook air 2019 model and im trying to find out how to maintain my battery life. I know there are 1000s of online articles, forum posts etc but im really getting mixed answers/reviews...

From one reliable source i saw that we shuld unplug when its around 100%, then charge again when its 20-30%.. some other sources (websites) / users told me that i can just keep it plugged 24/7 and just need to drain the battery once or twice a month... so which one is true? If i keep it plugged in lets say 10-12 hours daily do you think that will affect the battery? i.e. heat up the battery etc?

Thanks
    Chris

Your Mac's Specs
    PPC Mini, 10.4.11. Intel Mini, 10.6.8. MacBook Pro, 10.12.6. iPhone 5 iOS 11.3.
    My mid 2012 MBP is now just over 4 years old. It's on 24/7 and on charge for at least 20 hours a day. Its battery cycle count is 553 and it retains 80% of it's original charge capacity.

I also have a 2009 White MacBook that, again, is on 24/7 and on charge 24/7. Its cycle count is 977 and battery condition is 74% of original capacity. Those numbers haven't changed since it went on 24/7 operation two years ago.

It's designed to run on a battery, so just use it and don't worry. It's more likely that you'll decide it's time to get a new laptop before it needs a new battery.

This should tell you all to need to know:
    How to keep your MacBook Pro battery healthy for years

Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS 15, iPhone 8+ iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13,  Pencil 1
    Here is another Apple Support Article, Batteries - Maximizing Performance - Apple
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6