Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    New iMac slow rendering images
    Hello. I am a photographer and I have been using a MacBook Pro for many many years. I just moved to an iMac.
    My iMac is the 5k retina 27" 4.2 ghz intel core i7 32 gb ram radeon pro 580 8192 mb as far as stats
    My MacBook Pro is 15" 2.5 ghz intel core i7 16 gb 1600 mhz ddr3 Nvidia geforce g7 750 2048 mb as far as stats

Before I print some images large I upsize them and sharpen to print. I have a 32x40 print Im working on and the file size is 84 mb.
    When I open it in preview on the new iMac it won't render it for about 3 minutes. My laptop renders it immediately.
    I'm concerned about this performance but the new one should be much faster. I've also hardly used it; it has no programs on it and it's not near full. My MacBook is always near full and using all my ram non stop with programs. Yet it renders the images fine. What's going on? Thanks

Your Mac's Specs
    2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 7+, iPhone 8, Numerous iPods, Mojave
    Welcome to our forums.

Your new iMac should likewise render that print immediately. What program are you using to edit the photos and has it been updated for Mojave?

Thanks chscag

The problem isn’t even editing software..I don’t think: this is an image I edited on my laptop in photoshop before I bought the iMac. I upsized it and sharpened it for print. I always look at the final image full screen using “preview” which in my laptop takes a sec or two to load if it’s a very large file

When I got the iMac I moved the file there to see it on the big screen. Upon opening it in preview it’s there but slightly blurry for 5 min till it sharpens and fully renders. I considered maybe it was just the image and tried opening other large images I had set for print and same problem on all