Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Buying an engagement ring that looks like a diamond..
    Your Mac's Specs
    Mac Mini 2.7 GHz Intel Core i7 and a 15" MacBook Pro 2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo 2 GB 667Mhz DDR2 SDRAM
    OK. So I am about to buy an engagement ring to propose to my girlfriend (she is the one by me in my avatar) of 5 years, but I don't want to blow a large wad of cash on a diamond. It is not that I am cheap ... I am a grad student, so I am poor. And she would kill me if she found out I spent a ton of money on her ring ... we have had conversations about this before. She has stated clearly to me that she would rather me save my money and use it on a down-payment for our first house.

So I have looked around for diamond simulants and have found plenty of scam artists, as expected (diamond nexus labs, etc.), and have found some decent alternatives. After much searching, I have come to realize, once again, "there is no such thing as a free lunch," but there are some pretty good simulants such as cubic zirconia and moissanite. I just don't know what to do about this whole situation (what type of stone to get, where to look, etc.)

What I would like to ask you all out there in Mac Forums world is for suggestions on what I should do/buy. It would be great if you could draw from personal experience. Any comments or advice would be much appreciated.

I figured I would post it here because you have been able to help me so much with my Mac, and I would like to see what type of advice I can get from you on jewelry...

Thanks

Your Mac's Specs
    White MacBook Intel C2D 2.2GHz, 2G, 250G, SD, Leopard.
    The expectation for an engagement ring is that the stone will be a diamond. I think it is fine not to go the diamond route if that's something on which you both agree.