Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thumbs down Personal Computers were suppose to make our tasks easier?
    Hello, Let me introduce myself: I am an old Communications Engineer, a Ham Operator, a Biomedical Engineer, retired.
    I write technical consulting articles on many subjects, with little or no credit given.
    I work in areas with no internet, waiting for Starx to launch.
    Why is it so hard to tether to my phone for internet service? I've read the blogs, in 2013 there were discussions about tethering to make simplex transfers to my mac pro, but nothing I can find about duplex traffic, using the phone for an internet connection. :

Personal Computers were suppose to make our tasks easier?
    The process works like this assuming you have the hotspot service with your carrier and using an iPhone.

1) Go to Settings->Personal Hotspot
    2) Flip switch

You were shown a WiFi password on that page. Too complicated? Change it to something easier for you to type.

Go to your PC and enable WiFi if not already enabled and search for your Phone's name. The Personal Hotspot will even tell you what the access point will be called. Once found, click on it, enter your password and you are connected.

The iPhone will now have a blue icon indicating that someone is tethered to it and you have Internet connection on your PC.

Don't have hotspot service or an iPhone? Then provide more details about your environment.

Additionally, if you intention is to use a cellular connection as your primary Internet service, you don't want to use the phone as a hotspot (this is meant for temporary purposes), you want to go down the MiFi route where you get a dedicated device that will connect to the cellular network with it's own data plan and create a WiFi access point for all of your device just like any other WiFi router.
    --
    Regards
    ...Ashwin

PCs were suppose to make tasks easier?