Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

[OFF-TOPIC?] Syncing my work (Photoshop and Autocad) on a sucky internet speed - advice?
    Hi.
    I am really stuck on this, hope someone might help me out with advice.

I work on big files mostly. Photoshop (my biggest file is 1GB in size), Autocard, Autodesk.

My data is very important to me as I am a professional who makes a living out of this.

So I can't afford to have lost data.

So I should use Dropbox or Google Drive Sync I assume.

The problem I am having is that my internet connection is bad. We are talking 20MBPS down and about 1-3MBPS UP!

So this made me think that I am at risk of killing the office bandwidth if I will use such a constant-sync program such as Dropbox or Google Drive. This is a correct assumption?

There are 6 of us working on the same internet connection (router), and sometimes more than 6.

Any advice?

Optional info:

What I did was made one of the main computers in the office the "main" computer, and we are syncing work to a folder on it. Kind'a like an internal network. It has a huge HDD and I will pull (copy) a file from it, work on it, finish working on it, and then push (paste) it back to the main computer.

As you can tell, i am far from being knowledgeable.

Would love to hear your advice on this.

Thank you so much!!!

[OFF-TOPIC?] Syncing my work (Photoshop and Autocad) on a sucky internet speed - advice?
    Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
    Quote Originally Posted by OOOOKDSJAKSDKLA View Post
    Any advice?
    Idea #1:

Why not store file/project data locally? Purchase one or more high capacity hard drives (2-4 terabytes for example)...and store everything locally.

Idea #2: