Attention: Please checkout the new Mac-Forums Facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Additional details in the "News & Community Announcements" thread.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Can't bring a Macbook Air back to life - please help
    I’ll try to keep this as short as possible.

MacBook Air given to me because “the desktop won’t load”. I noticed that when booting, the apple logo will indeed get stuck (the bar won’t go pass 30% or so).

Since this was a recreational laptop, I went straight to Recovery Mode and wiped the drive.

Please note: I am new to the Mac world. PC guy.

Then tried to install via Internet Recovery. Mojave installer came up. Failed with error:

this operation couldn't be completed. (com.apple.installer.chunkeddownload error 2.)

(See Pic)

I then tried to reload the “regular” recovery. OS X Yosemite came up and I tried to install that.

Also got this error:

can't download the additional components needed to install os x

(Pic Imgur: The magic of the Internet)

Or sometimes it would just FREEZE:

Vid:

Imgur: The magic of the Internet

I then went to diagnostics and got no errors

“No issues found” (ADP000)

At some point I run Disk Utility Verify and Repair:

At this point I went and found another Mac and downloaded Yosemite (I figured i’ll download Yosemite since it was I assume this is original OS this Air came with - to the best of my googling), installed it on a SANDISK USB DRIVE and booted to this drive.

I then got this error:

I then went to a small repair shop to ask and open the bottom plate to see if perhaps something is loose (mainly I was thinking about the SSD).

Nothing seems broken/loose/weird.

Pics:

https://imgur.com/2pUtolT

https://imgur.com/riSpUjO

Since I am about to kill myself, I figured I'll post here again and ask.

Or can anyone help me with any advice? What am I doing wrong here?

Thanks you so much!

Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6