Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Applications slow to launch
    I am fairly new to the Mac. My mac has the latest Sierra update and 8gb ram with plenty of available disk space. I've run CleanMyMac and have no issues but all applications take a very long time to launch. Much slower than launching apps on a pc. Whether I launch Mail, Word, Excel, System Preferences, anything, they all take a long time to come up. Any ideas? This has happened with every update since I've had the mac. Thank you.

Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
    Two things to start with (since you already mentioned having 8gig of RAM and plenty of storage space):

1. Get rid of "Clean My Mac".
    2. Try rebooting the computer.

- Nick

p.s. Please let us know exactly how many gigs of free storage space you have. One person's definition of "plenty"...is not always the same an someone's else's.
    - Too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs
    - Computer seems slower than it used to? Read this for some slow computer tips: Speedup
    - Almost full hard drive? Some solutions. Out of Space
    - Apple Battery Info. Battery

MacInWin
    Also, if you have an antivirus application, get rid of it, too. Slows down the Mac unnecessarily and does nothing because there are NO viruses in the wild for Macs.

Slow startup can also be caused by a failing hard drive. How old is the drive?

Your Mac's Specs
    MBP 13" (2013); 8 GB RAM; SSD 256 GB; OS 10.14.2
    Quote Originally Posted by kalamarca View Post