Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
Join Us @ Mac-Forums Facebook Page

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Learning OS X

Learning OS X
    Hi everyone!

I recently purchased an ibook G4 with OS X 10.5.7 installed and have since found out I cannot upgrade to Snow Leopard due to hardware incompatibilities.

Now, I bought the laptop to learn everything I can about OS X as I am an IT professional and wish to further my knowledge of OS X (So far I've only had to deal with Windows and Linux distros).

Will learning about OS X by using OS X 10.5.7 be enough to grasp a firm understanding of the inner workings of a Mac OS?

Learning OS X
    Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
    Quote Originally Posted by Ants473 View Post
    Will learning about OS X by using OS X 10.5.7 be enough to grasp a firm understanding of the inner workings of a Mac OS?
    Technically speaking...you can upgrade to OS 10.5.8 for free via "Software Update".

Otherwise (IMHO) you can learn quite a bit about OS X from OS 10.5.8. There really aren't "TONS" of differences from the latest OS of 10.6.5.

- Nick
    - Too many "beachballs", read this: Beachballs
    - Computer seems slower than it used to? Read this for some slow computer tips: Speedup
    - Almost full hard drive? Some solutions. Out of Space
    - Apple Battery Info. Battery

Learning OS X

Your Mac's Specs
    Back to my old 2.2GHz C2D MB after selling my MBP and wondering what my next Mac will be :)
    This is a great start.
    Apple - Find Out How - Mac Basics
    and this book
    Amazon.com: Mac OS X Leopard: The Missing Manual (9780596529529): David Pogue: Books

As far as a more specific understand of the OS, I think it takes a bit of time playing around with it.
    The information you will find here on MF is invaluable, but I think that link and that book are really good to get the ball rolling.

Thanks for the replies guys! I'll be sure to check out those two links too.

Learning OS X