Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Photos ‘library updating’ 4% in 12 hours
    Hi everyone,

I updated to Catalina on my 2017 Mac on Monday and since then, I’ve made several attempts to open my photos app only for it to be stuck with the ‘library updating’ screen. I decided to leave it overnight (it was at 4% when I left it before going to bed at 9:30) and upon getting up at 9 this morning, I logged in to find it stuck at 4% still. I’ve tried to get it to update several tiles since Monday with no success. I’m a photographer and while I have most of the images backed up on external hard drives, it’s not much of a consolation because I do all of my workflow and edits through that Mac.

If anyone has any advice about a fix for this, I’d greatly appreciate it.

Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS 15, iPhone 8+ iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13,  Pencil 1
    Have you restarted the Mac? Try that, then give Photos another try? What OS did you upgrade from?
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

I think it was High Sierra that I upgraded from but I’m not 100% sure. I’ve tried shutting down and turning back on again a couple of times. I’ll try a restart.

Your Mac's Specs
    L2014 Mac mini macOS 15, iPhone 8+ iOS 13, 12.9" iPad Pro 1 iPadOS 13,  Pencil 1
    See if anything here helps, Get help with the Photos app on your Mac - Apple Support

Edit: I forgot to ask, if you left Photos closed at all? Just quit it, and forget it for a day or so?
    Last edited by ferrarr; 11-06-2019 at 10:38 AM. Reason: additional info
    -- Bob --
    Please backup. Everything has a life cycle, unexpected and warning free. Nothing will last as long as you want it to.

Your Mac's Specs
    MBP 15" Mid 2015, iPhone 11 Pro, an iMac, plus ATVs, AWatch, MacMini