Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
Join Us @ Mac-Forums Facebook Page

Thread: Compatiblity

Compatiblity

Your Mac's Specs
    Processor : 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5 Memory : 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz Graphics : Intel Iris 1536 MB Storage
    Compatiblity
    Im pretty new to ios and even mac, i live in south africa and the trend is really only picking up now so ive had to start bothering with designs and compatibility on these browsers and platforms too.

I know android and windows are easy going and go very compatible in terms of languages , apple has made a point of not having compatibility , for the reason of a safer more stable device. Especially on ios. Does this however run both ways?

Compatiblity
    For application programming, Android uses Java (moving to Kotlin) and Windows (pretty much dead now) used C#. iOS uses Objective-C and Swift as do macOS/OS X.

There are a handful of cross-platform frameworks (Xamarian for one) that allows you to write applications in one language (C# I believe) and deploy on a bunch of different devices. These apps tend to be native as well.

Another trend that is gaining a lot of traction is the use of hybrid apps (apps that run within a browser window which no controls) which is programmed using HTML/JavaScript like a regular web app. Frameworks like Meteor, Ionic, Firebase and so on give you the ability of creating these apps that have a native look and feel by using a variety of CSS/JS tricks.

I'm not sure what point you are trying to make with compatibility, since technically Android isn't compatible with anything outside of itself, as is Windows and iOS.
    --
    Regards
    ...Ashwin

Compatiblity

Your Mac's Specs
    Processor : 2.6 GHz Intel Core i5 Memory : 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz Graphics : Intel Iris 1536 MB Storage
    Quote Originally Posted by Raz0rEdge View Post