To buy a new macbook pro or to wait!?
    My macbook pro 15" has finally died after 6 years. I am a filmmaker so I need at least a 15" with preferably 16GB RAM.

I have an Imac which is my main edit machine but I travel a lot for work it would be nice to have something where I can do basic editing on the road. I think it mainly just comes down to a financial thing at this point, but I am torn if I should buy a new macbook pro, look for a 2015 model, or just wait. I am not a fan of them gutting out the connectors and having to use dongles, but it looks like a powerhouse and I cant seem to find any 2015 models under $2,000 when i could just buy a new one for $500 more.

I don't want to go refurbished because I just did that and immediately returned it because the battery was crap.

Any advice?

Welcome to Mac-Forums..

The 2017 version of MBP was recently released, so there won't be any more updates this year the MBP line-up. If you don't want the 2016/2017 model anyway, you are looking at 2015 models with all the connectors and they might not be readily available, but there is one available right now.

These machines are essentially returned to as-new condition and as such they should have new batteries with no cycles on them and the 1 year AppleCare included with the option to purchase 2 more years. You only want to purchase refurbished from Apple directly, the others don't offer the same things..
    --
    Regards
    ...Ashwin

Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
    Quote Originally Posted by Dommypanx View Post
    ...it would be nice to have something where I can do basic editing on the road.
    This is the BIG question. How long can you go without a portable computer before it affects your computing needs?

I don't want to go refurbished because I just did that and immediately returned it because the battery was crap.

Any advice?