Please visit the new Mac-Forums Facebook page:
https://www.facebook.com/macforums1

Thread: Which iMac 27'

Which iMac 27'
    Hi All,

I am planning to get a 27" iMac very soon, and undecided between the entry level system and the high end system. The main difference is: (3.0 8-gen with 570x 4Gb) vs (3.7 9-gen with 580x 8Gb).

My usage is mainly complex Office documents, some photoshop and AI, zoom, multiple browsers.

The price difference between these 2 is quite substantial....

Also, will it make sense to upgrade to SSD(I have been using SSD for the last several years).... Because an upgrade to an SSD will bring the prices of these 2 systems much closer to each other.

Which iMac 27'
    Your Mac's Specs
    2011 17" MBP 2.2ghz, 16gig ram, OS 10.11.6
    Quote Originally Posted by nnish78 View Post
    The price difference between these 2 is quite substantial....
    Basically what you're asking is...should you go with the entry level 27" iMac or the top end model.

As always...you will pay a premium for the top end model. The differences primarily are:

- Top end model CPU performance is about 10% faster (not that great).
    - Double the GPU memory (4gig vs. 8gig of video memory).
    - Top end model comes with 2x the internal storage (but still a fusion drive in both cases).

Also, will it make sense to upgrade to SSD(I have been using SSD for the last several years)....
    Yes most definitely...for 2 reasons:

1. You're already used to the speed of an SSD...if you got this new 27" iMac without an SSD...I think you might be less satisfied.
    2. Opening up one of these iMac's is really not an average user doable thing. Once configured at the time of purchase...Apple does not consider the internal storage to be upgradable by the end user.

Because an upgrade to an SSD will bring the prices of these 2 systems much closer to each other.