Question about mixers on Mac mini

Reaction score
Hey

In these days I'm about to make a little recording studio on my mac.
I have A Yamaha MIDI keyboard, Digital audio System, and Logic pro 7.

I want to connect an electric guitar, Keyboard and microphones.

Do I need a sound card? mixer?
(Will MG 10/2 work on my mac?)

(Sorry but I'm new in those things)

Thanks for helpers!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.2ghz 2G 15.5" 10.5.2; Iphone 3G
does your mixer have USB/firewire 400?

If not, then you need some way to get quality sound to the computer. See this thread for more info.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
It doesn't look like the mixer has USB or firewire outs. The edirol should work, but you might check out this thread on apple.com forums to figure out compatibility issues.
They have some suggestions for products there too.

Also, the edirol only has stereo jack inputs. You would have to run your instrument to the mixer then stereo cables from the mixer to the edirol.

OP
D
Reaction score
Thanks, but what is "MAC OS X Classic environment"?
How do I know if I have this or not?

(I don't want to buy it if it wont work...)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
You aren't running classic... You would know it. I think it's just for people running older mac applications that won't run on OSX...

OP
D
Reaction score
Ok, so it seems like there will be no problem.
I have another question for you...
When the edirol and the mixer will be connected, Will the Logic Pro 7 recognize them automatically?
Or will I have to install them manually?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
looks like this guy had success, so you should be safe...

Just make sure you go into Garageband preferences and change the audio in (and out if you want) to your device.
You will also have to get rca cables to go from the mixer to the edirol. You could also just get quarter inch cables that convert to RCA.

Looks like you are good to go!

OP
D
Reaction score