PDA

View Full Version : Remotely Control a pc with xp



srmorris2
02-25-2008, 12:18 AM
Okay, so im stuck!
Im wanting to be able to control 2 different XP computers. One that is on the same network and then one that is not (my gf's computer bc she has problems every once in a while). Im wondering if there is some program (free?!) that i can download for her pc and my pc to allow me to do this sort of task. or maybe a pair of programs, one for my mac and another for the pc's that will allow me to take control of those or just view what is going on on that computer. Thanks for the help!

EGGO
02-25-2008, 12:25 AM
Shoot...I'm trying to remember the name. They do exist. I know this, I've heard it on the satellite radio before.

If you have XP Professional, aren't you able to do that as well with Remote Desktop?

srmorris2
02-25-2008, 12:46 AM
they are both running xp home
and the compter im on now is my mac and i want to control to xp home machines and i do not have xp on this mac

billydilly
02-25-2008, 07:03 AM
Try log me in

I they do mac's and Windows
Have a look

https://secure.logmein.com/home.asp?lang=en

that should do the trick

and it's FREE

Audio.Trench
02-25-2008, 07:09 AM
Try log me in

I think that dose mac's and Windows
Have a look

https://secure.logmein.com/home.asp?lang=en

that should do the trick

Arg! Ya beat me to it!

I've been using LogMeIn.com for a while.. I'm so glad they have a Mac applet now. Before I could just control a Windows PC with their Java controller.. Now I can control my Mac from a PC now too! :)

billydilly
02-25-2008, 07:14 AM
Arg! Ya beat me to it!

I've been using LogMeIn.com for a while.. I'm so glad they have a Mac applet now. Before I could just control a Windows PC with their Java controller.. Now I can control my Mac from a PC now too! :)

LOL

Great minds think alike

srmorris2
02-25-2008, 10:55 AM
Tanks guys!!!!

btdickey
02-25-2008, 11:21 AM
Theres also a program, RealVNC that has a free version. It works like a charm also, but LogMeIn is a great tool as well and I use it frequently. :)

billydilly
02-25-2008, 11:54 AM
Tanks guys!!!!

No probalmo

TopDog
02-25-2008, 12:01 PM
VNC for LAN, LogMeIn for WAN.

Thyamine
02-25-2008, 01:35 PM
You can also use the Mac RDP client from Microsoft (also free).

http://www.microsoft.com/mac/products/remote-desktop/default.mspx

It's just like the one that comes with Windows, but for the Mac (obviously). It will certainly work on your local network, but won't work by default across the internet to another system unless you set things up correctly.

However, given that, LogMeIn (like others have said) is a pretty easy way to go.