Just Registered !! =) Questions on what to purchase as my first Mac...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook 2.4GHz - 2GB Ram - 160GB - 8x Super Drive
Hi everyone, my name is Nick and I'm a mac newbie. I have been reading the forums for a few weeks now to get some ideas on what to buy, here is what im looking for.

Laptop for sure, no bigger than 15inches, backlit keyboard, im not going to play games on it so it doesnt need to be too fast, I will use it for pics, music and rarely for video. I also will use it to burn DVDs, backup movies. My plan is also to buy a airport extreme so I can attach my Ext HD to it.
So the Air is really tempting and I played with it at best buy a little bit, but the macbook pro can do a lot more, so I cant decide what to buy for my fist mac computer. any advice will help, anything I should know about the pro or air will help also. I have $2,000 - $2,200 to spend for everything.
Thanks,
-Nick

Reaction score
in my opinion, the air should be a lot cheaper. like $700us cheaper. it lacks and restricts quite a bit. for your case, a regular macbook pro would be perfect.
besides not having a 15inch screen and back lit keyboard, a macbook would be fine too.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro M1 Pro - 16 GB RAM - 512 GB SSD - macOS Monterey
If the backlit keyboard is a deal breaker, then the MBP would be the way to go. If you can deal with not having a backlit keyboard, then a MacBook would suit your needs just fine for USD $500+ less.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8 core 2.8Ghz, 12GB RAM, 2.3TB HD; MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz, 4GB RAM, 200GB HD
As the others said, if you can get over the backlit keyboard the MacBook may be a good solution. For $1300 you can get a 2.2GHz machine. Go out and buy $300 of upgrades (4GB RAM and 320GB HD). You're now at $1600 and the machine will easily do everything you need. It weighs 5 pounds and gets great battery life.