Which iMac?

Reaction score
Hello all:

I'm thinking seriously about getting an iMac -- I guess I've had enough of windows, and my current pc is eight years old. I'm primarily interested in using the computer for music writing (with Sibelius -- don't know if any of you are familiar with it) and music recording/editing, which I've never done before, as well as everyday things like word processing.

Anyway, the machines I saw in my local apple store were beautiful to boot -- nice and sleek and they seemed really sturdy. The two models I'm looking at are the 2.0 Ghz and the 2.4 ghz. 250 gb hard drive and 320 gb, respecitvely, as well as a 128 mb video card for the 2.0 and 256 for the 2.4. My questions are:

1. When/where does the difference in video card memory become noticeable? Does it affect the display itself? Will it make any difference in my notation software program? Currently on my pc I get slow screen redraw, as I open more widows/dialolg boxes -- it looks like a 'shadow' or some kind of trailing image when I move the boxes or the sheet around. Will video card memory size affect that at all?

2. In general, is the difference between the processor speeds that important for my applications? When does processor speed really matter as a whole? I don't want to have to spend money for things I don't need. I could use the $300 price difference for other things.

By the way, I plan on maxing out the RAM to the full 4 GB

I hope I've given enough info. Let me know if you need more.

But overall, I'm looking forward to this purchase:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2xiMac24 w Parallels 6 (1x White, 1x Aluminum), iPhone 3GS with iOS5
My first thought is tell us about your current PC especially the video card - if we know what you have then it is a baseline for us to help you.