New to Mac what tune up programs do i need?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17'' Imac 2Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 1 GB DDR SDRAM
i am new to mac i was wondering what programs i need to keep it up and running at tip top speed. i know on windows you need anitvirus, u need to defrag every month and a whole bunch of other stuff but what do i need one here. I am running mac os x version 10.5.1 if that helps at all thanks in advance

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
To be honest, you don't really need anything. You don't need antivirus since there are no Mac viruses. You don't need a defrag program since OS X does it automatically. And you don't need spyware/adware scanning apps because again, you don't get those on the Mac. And OS X doesn't suffer the same performance decrease over time that Windows does.

There are programs out there that do cleaning of temporary files and caches, but you don't need to do this regularly to keep the system running at full speed. If you leave your Mac on 24/7, it'll do this automatically.

But if you really need these apps, check out MainMenu and Onyx.

Oh, and welcome to Mac-Forums. You'll find yourself with a lot more time on your hands now that you don't have to do regular maintenance. ;P

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro, 2.4GHz Core2 Duo 10.6.8, MacMini