Thinking of a Change and a Dilemma

Reaction score
I am in the market for a Laptop and I have been a PC user all this long. I am looking at DELL and also at 17" Macbook Pro.

I am a photographer by hobby and I work a lot on Photoshop and related applications. Just this would make my decision simpler (that is the move to Mac) but now my wife has enrolled into a IT Programming Degree course (2 years) at a local college and she will learn Visual Basic and may be many other programming languages.

This is where my difficulty comes in. I will be a secondary user for the Laptop (I can always use Photoshop on my PC Desktop at Home) and my wife will be the primary user.

I am aware that one can run Windows on Macs and there are specific programs like Parallel, VM Ware (I dont know a thing about those, just heard of them), but my question is will my wife be able to use the Mac for her programming needs easily ?

Budget is not a big constraint but ideally I would not want to shell out a lot of $$ for those additional softwares.

Help/Thoughts ?

Regards/Ram

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13 inch 2012 Air
Bootcamp software that ships with mac os x leopard allows you to duel boot with windows at the touch of a finger. so when you start the computer simply choose xp or osx. This will let your wife program in windows natively.

you will of course need a copy of xp to install though.

OP
R
Reaction score
Bootcamp software that ships with mac os x leopard allows you to duel boot with windows at the touch of a finger. so when you start the computer simply choose xp or osx. This will let your wife program in windows natively.

you will of course need a copy of xp to install though.

Awesome and Thank You. If its as simple as that, my choice is pretty much made.

Reaction score