Spaces or Desktop Manager

Reaction score
I am new to macs and so far I am sold on them. The space feature is one of my favorite feature that i have discovered so far. I heard some things about a program called Desktop manager. Seems to be a similar idea to Spaces... could someone fill me in on the differences and what one would be the better option.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Black Macbook C2D 2GHz 3GB RAM 250GB HD iPhone 4 iPad 3G
For starters, Spaces is a Leopard only feature. If for some reason you don't have a Mac with Leopard, then Spaces isn't an option for you. You would have to use either Desktop Manager or another program called VirtueDesktops.

Now if you DO have Leopard, first try out the built in Spaces feature before trying out a third party solution. Since you're even asking this question, I'm thinking Spaces should suffice.

OP
DavyJon3s
Reaction score
Yes spaces will probably suffice. However, can you make your MacBook into a SmacBook with spaces ?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac Core Duo 20", iBook G4, iPhone 8GB :)
Spaces is really good. And it integrates into the system much better than any other desktop manager. For instance, when in a spaces birds eye view, you can hit F9 and invoke Expose while in that view. All your windows in all your spaces.

Even if they do make a smackbook app, I wouldn't recommend it unless one day you can get a macbook with a flash based storage. Jerking the hard drive can only result in data loss...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" 2.2GHz Santa Rosa Macbook Pro - 4GB Ram - 120GB HD OS X Leopard - Windows XP
...For instance, when in a spaces birds eye view, you can hit F9 and invoke Expose while in that view. All your windows in all your spaces....

never knew that, Thanks!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
White MacBook Intel C2D 2.2GHz, 2G, 250G, SD, Leopard.