.Mac - What is it exactly?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" Retina 5K iMac 3.2Ghz Quad 24GB RAM, 1TB HD. iPhone 11.
I've had my Mac for a several months now and am loving it and I've had my own website for several years and although I'm perfectly happy with my current host I could use more disc space and the cost of upgrading to their next package puts it's very close to the cost of .Mac with tons more storage but I'm not sure I entirely understand exactly what .Mac is/does.

I know that you can upload photos from iPhoto but I am a bit of a photographer and don't use iPhoto and instead use Aperture. So I guess I can't use the gallery part of .Mac then? Also I know that you can use .Mac to have a gallery and to have a website but it sounds as though they are separate things and would have separate URL's too, is that correct?

When it comes to the website side of things, again I know I can publish straight from iWeb but again I don't use iWeb so can I still use the website side of things? Also does iMac only allow you to run HTML pages, what if you needed PHP, MYSQL, CGI Scripts etc etc?

This might sound dumb but how would anyone find say, someone's gallery on a .Mac account?

I think I already know that .Mac won't be a suitable replacement for my current site but I do have an idea for another one so if anyone has a website on .Mac that they'd like to share I'd like to see it to see what can be achieved and the same goes for anyone's photo gallery.

Reaction score
I have no idea what I would use it for ... I am using the 60 day trial to host html pages I am doing in a course. I thought it was going to be a social network for mac people ... but it won't even let me see Groups. I dunno ...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 15" 2006 | 2011 21.5in iMac-1tb-i5-12gig | iPhone 3gs
I use .mac for backing up my preferences and I also just created a website through .mac