New to Macs; Hoping to use GarageBand

Reaction score
So yes, I am new to Macs. I'm not familiar with them at all but I've really only heard good things. Recently I came up the program called GarageBand that Macs are capable of running and being an avid fan of creating my own music, I quickly fell in love with what the software offered.

I am 100% sure that I want to purchase a Mac for the use of GarageBand. It was also be used for browsing the internet and chatting but primarily I want the system for running that program. However, I'm lost as to where I should even start my search.

The idea of having a MacBook or MacBook Pro is very attractive for the sake of convenience. It'd be nice to have it for when I'm on the go and have it easily accessible. However, I seemed to notice that for about the same price, I could purchase an iMac that's more powerful.

I guess I'm basically asking whether it's more sound to get a macbook or just an iMac. Again, I really like the idea of the MacBook but fear paying up the nose for one powerful enough to do what I need it to.

Also, is it easier to upgrade one over the other? That may help me as well.

Thanks in advance for any help!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP 2.4GHz 4GB, iPod Classic 120GB
To be honest other than the hard drive space the iMac and MBP are very similar. I personally love my 15" MBP. It runs extremely fast for me and can do anything I throw at it.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac (Aluminum), MacBook (Core Duo), iPod (Classic), 16GB iPhone 3G