Making the big jump to a Mac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 15" 2.6 C2D, 4GB RAM, 250GB HD
In August of 2006, I bought my first mac. It is a 13" white Macbook. I really enjoy it and since that time I haven't really used my PC at all and my parents have switched to Macs, in November, getting a 24" iMac.

I have the chance to get a really great deal on a 15" MacBook Pro. It would be a 2.6 C2D with 4gigs of ram (from Kingston.com) and a 250 GB HD for about $2,200. I'm not a film maker or an artist type. I'm an economics graduate student and I will get my last fellowship payment on January 16th. I know that this is a great deal and I'm not a Mac hate at all (check my post history).

I would use the computer for school work, general internet surfing, music, movie watching, and I'd like to be able to play real games. I'm not a "big" gamer, but I'd like to play WoW or Lord of the Rings Online. I would use Bootcamp because some of the games I'm interested in only run on Windows and I'd like to be able to run any software I need. I prefer OSX to Windows. Since I've made the jump, I've become very comfortable with the operating system.

My girlfriend is from China so I've been to China and Taiwan and I'd like to get into digital photography since I'll be going back for the Olympics. I also will be getting season tickets for the Milwaukee Brewers and I'd like to be able to post cool photos on my iWeb website.

My hesitation comes from the fact that I could get the equivalent PC notebook for about $1700, so it's about a $500 price difference not including Apple Care. That is the cost of one seat for the baseball tickets. The upside is that my dad needs a new notebook and I would give him my macbook. He has really enjoyed the switch.