Why does OS X do this? ...

Reaction score
I'm new to OS X so just bear with me. This is something different from Windows ... eh, actually it doesn't even apply to Windows.

When I open Safari, the OS X menu changes to Safari. When I close Safari, the menu is still Safari. I would think the menu would change to Finder.

If I have iTunes and Safari open and I'm using Safari, the menu is Safari. If I close Safari, the menu is still Safari. I would think that the menu would change focus to iTunes and change the menu to iTunes but it doesn't until click on iTunes.

It appears that closing an application doesn't change the menu to the current active application. It's not a big deal, I just wonder what the reasoning is behind this UI decision.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Gateway2000 P5-60. 66Mhz and 128 MB RAM.
Unlike Windows when you close the window, your just closing the window. You have to tell the program to quit either by command -Q or from the Finder bar. Also you can close it by right clicking (or command and click on the single button mice) it in the dock and telling it to quit. You can also quickly switch between programs by using Alt and Tab

Edit: sorry guys :p

M

MacHeadCase

Because when you close an application's window you are not quitting the application, it is still running.

Contrary to Windoze, applications on the Mac are not window-centric i.e. you can have the app running with more than one window open and you can have the app running with no windows open as well: the app is ready waiting in the background for another window to open at your convenience and it is not using up system resources if it is not used.

To quit the app, you need to choose Quit or do Command + Q.

Edited to add:

mac0s9user beat me to it. :D

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE