Please help me! I'm stuck on which Mac to get!

Reaction score
Heloo there,

I'm in a bit of a mess, Im a student and my course says I need a mac. I'm doing a music course and I would need to use software like MAX/MSP, logic and other music related software, since I'm also an amateur dj I'd like to move from the dreadful windows platform to the sleek and lovely OS X. However theres a problem,

MONEY :)

At the moment I have about £250 saved up which is about $500 and for that I can get a iBook G3 600 Dual USB :( Hardly what I need. That said though, what do all of you mac experts think I would need minimum and recommended e.g iBook G4 or Powerbook G4 etc? I love the macbook 2.2Ghz white and thats the one I would love to buy but that wouldnt be anytime soon lol. My rubbish dell pc is nearly dead and I need something quick, any ideas guys and girlies, I'd really appreciate any help you can give :)

Also if you know any places in the states where they deliver to the UK, PLEASE LET ME KNOW :D

Thanks a lot!
Take care
Harmi

OP
H
Reaction score
Is it good enough for audio work or is the MBP the best solution

Hey guys, I'm not a mac user yet I'm afraid but I really want to switch over! WINDOWS IS VERY VERY BAD :p
Since I'm a uni student and because of my course I have to use mac now with audio and sound related software (MAX/MSP, Logic Pro, Cubase, CSound etc) I need to get a mac but I have a relatively low budget and I'm in the UK. I can just about afford a 1.33Ghz G4 iBook in very good condition at around £350 or a 1.33 - 1.5Ghz G4 Powerbook 12" for £450 to £500. Will these mac notebooks be sufficient to handle Tiger and the apps above with everything else (Safari, iLife, etc) ? If i was to get a macbook pro £1300 it will take me ages to get the money and I kinda need it now. Any help would be much appreciated mac experts :)

Thanks a lot!
Take care
Harmi

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver