Some Help To A Future Mac User

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to these forums and (hopefully) a new Mac user but I'd love a bit of advice first before I buy.

I'm a Voiceover Artist who is looking to build a new voiceover recording area in the new flat I've just purchased. In terms of the area itself, I plan to soundproff the area as best as I can and purchase a decent microphone.

Due to the space limitations and the fact that I'm bored using a PC - I fancy purchasing a Mac for this purpose (partly as the Mac will be silent whilst being in the studio area and... well I've always fancied one).

At the moment, I have a PC and laptop both running Windows and have used Cool Edit Pro/Adobe Audition so am used to that sort of interface.

So now the million dollar question - what do you recommend I buy? Obviously I will need a large hard drive.. but what sort of RAM should I look for; is there any particular mixer that you would recommend; any particular soundcard and what program should I purchase for the recording of my audio files.

I will use it in two different modes - to record dry audio track which I will then edit and send as an MP3 file; and create sessions with files on different tracks which I will mixdown into one MP3... basically in the way you can with Cool Edit Pro/Adobe Audition.

And one last question... with files on my PC and laptop - can I use my internal network to drag the MP3 files across between machines or do I have to copy them using an external/flash drive?

Thanks for all your help in my rather strange request but I don't want to spend a fortune on equipment and software to find out I can't use them.

Cheers - and a belated Merry Christmas to everyone!

Reaction score
Hey there!