MacBook Pro vs. iMac

Reaction score
Hi!

I am very new to Mac's and wanted to buy one for the holidays. The only problem is that I have no clue which one I want. I am starting to get very interested in video editing (nothing "big" as I am a teen) and was intrigued by a iMac (24 inch). Since I am used to a laptop, I'd want to get a MacBook Pro (15.4 inch). I will be working with Final Cut Studio. My major problem is the lack of upgrading in laptops. I heard that upgrading a iMac is possible. Here are my questions:

1. Which one would you buy?
2. How is the performance in a MacBook Pro? (Running intense programs or games)
3. Which one is best for me?

Thanks for answering!!

**NOTE : I lean towards the laptop side more because I like being portable.

Also, which graphics card is better - Laptop or iMac?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone
You can upgrade the HD's and RAM on both machines. You might be able to upgrade the processor in the iMac but it'd have to be from the same family so there wouldn't be too much of a performance boost. Really, think of the iMac as a permanent desktop.
Personally, I like desktops over laptops so I would say go with the iMac. But if you can get the MBP, get a decent 20" or 24" monitor when you're at a computer desk.
Performance wise, the 24" 2.4GHz iMac will have a slight edge (and I mean very slight edge) due to the 7200RPM HD compared to the 15.4" 2.4GHz MBP's 5400RPM HD.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" iMac, 2.4GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB hard drive, OS X 10.5.1
If you can spring for the 7200rpm hard drive option on the Mac Book Pro then it sounds like you will be happier with that over an iMac. Though I would say editing video would be less enjoyable on the MBP, portability seems to be a major factor for you and there is a lot more to using a Mac than editing. I do love my iMac, but my father in law has a 15" MBP with the 7.2k drive in it and it is extremely capable.