Can this be done?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I have a back up of office 2004 mac version I bought a while back when I was a student and used to be in the habit of backing up my software I had purchased legally.

Good job I did and the disk smashed once when I pulled it out of its case leaving me only with the back up.

Would this back up be able to be read by a mac mini?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Quad 2.8GHz Mac Pro, Edge iPhone
You owned the right to use to the disc that was smashed. You didn't own the right to make copies. Any advice given would get this topic deleted/ closed. I would say, wait till the new version of Office comes out soon. It's suppose to be a much better app.

OP
K
Reaction score
Here in the UK we can make 1 copy as its the license you own to use the software and not the actual disk.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
17" MacBook Pro
I suppose technically it's illegal, but since you made a backup for yourself, didn't sell or otherwise distribute the original software (or the copy) I say go a head and use it. That's assuming that it will work.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | LED Cinema Display | iPhone 4 | iPad 2
Actually most software license agreements allow you to make one backup for personal use. So you should be fine.

Kola: As a side note, what you're allowed to do in the UK is irrelevant here since we follow US law on this site.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Considering a Mac... hopefully
You owned the right to use to the disc that was smashed. You didn't own the right to make copies. Any advice given would get this topic deleted/ closed. I would say, wait till the new version of Office comes out soon. It's suppose to be a much better app.