Plist modification script

Reaction score
Hey all,

I was wondering if anyone knew a way to write a script to change a value of a entry in a plist file.

the file I am trying to modify is

user/library/presences/com.extensis.suitcase.plist

the entry i want to change is

last server

i need to change whatever is there to "usat-vocmac01"

I am pretty new to apple script ( i'm not even sure if apple script is the best way to do this)

any help would be greatly appreciated

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
12" Apple PowerBook G4 (1.5GHz)
Or any text editor (TextEdit, BBEdit, TextWrangler, Smultron...)

M

MacHeadCase

Right you are tech! I had forgotten about that! I can't remember when I had to modify a plist but I did it once: took the idea from a How To of some kind... I think I used TextEdit.

OP
C
Reaction score
I think I may have worded my question wrong

I can edit the plist fine on a single machine I have 50 to do so I was wondering if there was a way to automate it

a click here to switch servers.applescript type of deal.

Reaction score
Are you looking for a script that will run on all 50 machines simultaneously?

Are you trying to change some text here?

I just wondered that if you are using something like TextEdit, then couldn't you just use the "Find/Replace With" in the Edit menu?

OP
C
Reaction score
im looking to email the users a script to run.

I didnt think that the plist were texteditable?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
hmm i am not sure about this but this is what i had to do if I wasn't sure If I could trust people on the network to put the file in the right place:

I would write a plist file yourself, send that in a disk image.. inside the disk image put the file and a alias to the folder where the plist belongs and have make the instructions to drag the file to the folder in the same window, similar to how applications you download install to the applications folder.

Reaction score