Woo - Excited!

Reaction score
Afternoon All,

Long time lurker - first time poster!

I'm looking at buying my first mac - had a play (well a good 5 hours) with my Aunties C2D imac and I love it... MacOS looks and feels fantastic and even though I haven't seen much of Leopard - all the posts etc that I've managed to read talk highly of it (correct me if I'm wrong!) :)

I'm thinking of taking the plunge and becoming (gradually) a fully fledged mac user... I think the lifestyle which seems rather relaxed will suit me!! I use windows based software all day in work so i think I deserve a treat!

My question(s) have probably been answered a million times before - but I'd like a fresh take on it!

What incarnation of mac would you suggest for a complete newbie - who would be looking to use it alongside a pc for starters - but hopefully eventually make the switch (at home at least!) as fully as possible!

I like the idea of the macbook to start with... its neat and looks absolutely stunning. I also have the bonus of having used apple cinema displays for the past few years so I already have one! On the other hand, however, I'm led to believe that the imac is the 'quintessential' mac product...so I'm in a quandry!

Although the mac mini is a great idea - I don't think that would be a wise purchase for me given my current situation.

As a Civil Engineer / Transport Planner, based in the UK - all the industry software I use is windows based - so I'm always going to have to use windows, but up until recently, I've done quite a bit of work at home which has warranted a machine, but I've just been given a brand new dell precision laptop which I can bring home, so I'm hoping to phase out my 'home pc'!

So - i suppose if you could offer any thoughts or opinions I'd be most grateful!

Anyway - thanks for listening (hope it made a little bit of sense!)

sparks*

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
24" iMac, 2.4GHz C2D, 4 GB RAM, 320 GB hard drive, OS X 10.5.1