New member, possible switcher

Reaction score
Hey all, I'm very new to Mac's, and everything about OSX. I've always been a PC guy, and I'm at a crossroads where I'm looking into possibly switching.

I work for a Recording studio, and I want to build up my home equipment and do some of the smaller tasks here. I'm really trying to figure out which way to go, and I figured the mac forums would be the best place to look.

I'm looking at the mac mini (mainly because I'm on a very limited budget atm.) My current pc setup is a 2.8ghz Intel P4, 800Mhz FSB, 2g PC-3200 ram. Those are the pertinent specs.

Mini I'm looking at is 2.0Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 667Mhz FSB, 2g PC2-5300, Superdrive, etc. Comes with Leopard.

For the same $$ I can build a much more powerful PC, as an upgrade to my current hardware. So I'm really stuck, and I hope you guys can give my better information to help me decide, than "It just works". I look forward to chatting with more of you, thanks alot :)

Jay

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro | iMac(2.1 G5) | MacBook(2.16 C2D) | MacMini (1.67 CD) | iPhone 4 | iPad (3rd Gen)
Welcome to M-F Jay!

Well, it would be easier if you describe the kind of work you want to do with your potential Mac. MacMini has limited capabilities when it comes to multimedia. Rather you should consider buying an iMac. If you are referring to internet surfing and running apps. which require low graphic capabilities, mini should also be fine.

OP
E
Reaction score